Lisbon, the start of thinking about traveling - Reisverslag uit Lissabon, Portugal van Danouck Kan - WaarBenJij.nu Lisbon, the start of thinking about traveling - Reisverslag uit Lissabon, Portugal van Danouck Kan - WaarBenJij.nu

Lisbon, the start of thinking about traveling

Door: Danouck

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Danouck

07 Augustus 2013 | Portugal, Lissabon

Although this is not really my first journey, I want to start my travel reports from here, Lisbon. This is the place where I started to think about travelling. Last weeks I took the time to find out what I really want to do and one of the things that I always had in mind is travelling the world. So, the conclusion was quite simple: I gonna travel, in itself a big decision but there is much more to keep in mind when it comes to travelling.

Although I'm still thinking about how, what, where and when exactly, I decided that it shouldn't be a problem to travel on my own. Maybe it's even better to experience how it feels to travel totally independent from others. The advantages are that I don't have to take into account what others want to do on the journey and it's said that if you travel alone, you'll be more open to meet other people than if you travel together with someone. I think that that's a vital advantage, cus meeting people means meeting new friends and views (as I found out when I went to the Intensive Programme (IP) in Albir, Spain in the beginning of this year).

The similarity with joining the IP and travelling alone is that both experiences began/begin 'alone'. Before I went to Albir I already had had some contact with the other Dutch students who went to the IP, but I didn't know a lot about them. After two weeks I didn't only become good friends with them, but I also met many other people, with whom I shared great joy and interesting conversations. The IP, but also these weeks in Lisbon taught me that being open to others, being myself and sharing experiences are the main ingredients for enjoying time together to the fullest.

The last important dimension of travelling alone is that I'll get time to think. I've always worked very hard to graduate. This September I'll present my master thesis and then I'm MSC, Master of Science; Sociology. For the sake that I'm not sure about what I want to do after my studies, I've decided that it's important to give myself time to think about this.

So, the next step is to find out how I'll fill in these three months. I'm free to do whatever I would like to do and that feels great. There are several things that I keep in mind, now I should consider the possibilities to make these dreams come true.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Danouck

After my bachelor 'Liberal Arts and Sciences' with the major 'Sociology' and my Sociological Master 'Labour, Organisation and Management', it's now time to discover and experience the world.

Actief sinds 31 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 395
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20595

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2014 - 06 April 2014

Thailand

04 Oktober 2013 - 08 November 2013

Interrail

29 Augustus 2013 - 18 September 2013

Geneva, Vercors Horsebacktrail and Drôme

14 Juli 2013 - 28 Augustus 2013

Planning travelling

Landen bezocht: