Vercors, magnificent nature - Reisverslag uit Étoile-sur-Rhône, Frankrijk van Danouck Kan - WaarBenJij.nu Vercors, magnificent nature - Reisverslag uit Étoile-sur-Rhône, Frankrijk van Danouck Kan - WaarBenJij.nu

Vercors, magnificent nature

Door: Danouck

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Danouck

09 September 2013 | Frankrijk, Étoile-sur-Rhône

Hi Everyone, (will upload the pictures later)

Back in the ‘real’ world, so I’ve internet again to write you some stories about my magnificent horseback trip in the Vercors. It started on the first of September in Geneva where I took the train to Valence train station and where I met the first other participants who were also waiting for the transfer to Chapelle en Vercors. When we arrived, we’re first introduced to the others and then our guide Franck explained what our week in the Vercors would be like; promising was my conclusion! He chose a horse for everyone and mine was named Riquel, a small horse but with strong legs as trail horses should be. It would not surprise you that Riquel is a white horse as it’s almost always the case for me when I’m going on a trail abroad (A). The next day, after a night in a dormitory we had a nice breakfast, brushed and saddled the horses; ready for the adventure.

The tack that we used is particular for trail riding: a very comfortable saddle with saddlebacks to carry food for the picnic and special straps to attach some warm clothes or a raincoat to the saddle. Besides that the horses always had a headcollar with a rope on under their bridle to tie them to a tree if we we’re picnicking or brushing them. I found that the horses were very well taken care of. Every morning and evening we had to wash their ‘armpits’ with soap and in the morning we also had to put some salve there, cus there the girth can cause damage to the skin. Our guide wanted us to mention every little thing that we found susceptive; like little wounds etc. He was also able to take care of the hoof shoes and all, so that gave me a good feeling.

During the days we first had breakfast together and then we would take the horses out of the field where they spend the night, feed them, brush them and saddle them. It was usual to first walk a few hundred meters beside your horse before mounting and that was also the case for arriving at a picnic place or a lodge. Sometimes the terrain was so rough that we had to dismount so that it was easier for the horses to descend. The reward was that we came to unbelievable beautiful places with views that I can you can’t even imagine. Those are probably among the most beautiful places that I’ve ever seen. The pictures can’t even capture this image totally. The most special thing about this all is that I bet that there’s no other way possible then to do such a trip than by horse. In total we bridged in between 200 and 220 kilometers and I don’t think that it’s possible to hike or bike that for example in such terrain. So I’m very glad that I can horseback ride ;-). In the afternoon we would had lunch that we carried in our saddlebacks and then there was some time to rest, sleep or enjoy the view. Once I went to the top of a nearby hill and sat down to rest and oversee the stunning panorama when two butterflies decided that they liked to sit on my hands for almost half an hour which was so cute. I seem to attract butterflies because a few days after that one flew straight into my bra :-P
One of the other dimensions from this trip to the Vercors is that there is no wifi, at sometimes no network and in one lodge there wasn’t even a shower. So it was a very back to basics trip and I actually liked it not to be constantly informed about everything. According to me; an optimal way to enjoy nature to the fullest and zero worries on my mind.

Besides this all it was also great fun to gallop in the big open fields of the Vercors. I hope that I’ll manage to upload a GoPro movie, made by one of the other riders that captures the group in full gallop. In the second part of the gallop I’m clearly visible; I’m the rider with the orange top on the white horse (-: . I must admit that I don’t wear my helmet on the video but I trusted my horse for more than 100%. In the mountains I once closed my eyes for almost ten minutes to see how much I trusted him and I had no single doubt. So I decided to also tan my forehead a bit ;-) . I’m very tanned by the way, unfortunately only my head and arms. The weather couldn’t have been better. No single raindrop and super sunny, only one little thunderstorm in the last night.
Finally, I met some great people during this trail. Of course we all share the passion for horses that connects you instantly, but we had a very nice time, especially the last days. It’s unfortunate that this week passed by so quickly.

In short the whole trail was one big joy, a dream that came true and that I’ll memorize forever with great pleasure. I hope that you’ll enjoy the pictures as much as I do!

Liefs, Danouck.



  • 09 September 2013 - 17:22

    Myrthe:

    Leuk verslag danouck..en mooi fotos! Genietse nog verder.. X myrthe

  • 10 September 2013 - 07:34

    Ilse:

    Hey Lieffie,

    Prachtige foto's. Onbegrensde vrijheid ;). Lfs ons

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Danouck

After my bachelor 'Liberal Arts and Sciences' with the major 'Sociology' and my Sociological Master 'Labour, Organisation and Management', it's now time to discover and experience the world.

Actief sinds 31 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 440
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20600

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2014 - 06 April 2014

Thailand

04 Oktober 2013 - 08 November 2013

Interrail

29 Augustus 2013 - 18 September 2013

Geneva, Vercors Horsebacktrail and Drôme

14 Juli 2013 - 28 Augustus 2013

Planning travelling

Landen bezocht: